Before obtaining a South Carolina license plate, the vehicle must be registered with the SC DMV through the completion of the necessary forms, submission of DMV requirements, and payment of all applicable charges. Following registration, the license plate may be acquired and must be visibly displayed on the vehicle in compliance with state regulations. In instances of purchasing a pre-owned car in South Carolina, it may be necessary to either transfer the license plates from the prior owner or procure new plates from the DMV.
In order to obtain a license plate in South Carolina, you must register your vehicle with the South Carolina DMV. It is mandatory under state law to register your newly acquired vehicle within 45 days of purchase. If you bought the vehicle through a dealer, they will usually handle the titling and registration process on your behalf.
To register your vehicle and obtain a South Carolina license plate, you will need to provide the following documents:
- Completed South Carolina Registration/Title Application Form
- South Carolina Driver’s License or ID card
- Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin OR Certificate of Title
- Copy of Current Insurance Paper
- Proof of Payment for registration fees and any applicable taxes
- Bill of Sale (if applicable)
- Smog/VIN/Safety inspection (if applicable)
The charges for registering a vehicle in South Carolina are subject to change and dependent on several variables such as the weight, year of the model, and designated purpose of the automobile. Furthermore, extra costs may apply if you wish to acquire specific license plates or availing other services.
Once you possess all the required papers and payments, you can proceed to your local SC DMV branch to finalize the registration procedure and secure your SC license plate. The DMV might furnish you with a provisional registration card and license plate until your permanent license plate is produced and sent to you.
It should be emphasized that in South Carolina, it is mandatory to display license plates on the back of the vehicle, properly secured and easily distinguishable from a distance of not less than 60 feet under daylight conditions.
If you need more details about South Carolina license plates and how to complete vehicle registrations in South Carolina, you can get in touch with:
South Carolina DMV Contact Info
PO Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29016
10311 Wilson Boulevard
Blythewood, SC 29016