Before acquiring a Rhode Island license plate, you must register your vehicle with the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which requires satisfying all DMV requirements and settling any expenses. Following state laws, you can then affix your Rhode Island license plates to the front and back of your vehicle. If you happen to purchase a pre-owned vehicle in Rhode Island, it may be necessary to transfer the previous owner’s license plates or get new ones from the DMV.
If you are a recent resident of Rhode Island, it is mandatory to carry out a vehicle title transfer and register your vehicle within 30 days of moving to the state.
In order to obtain a Rhode Island license plate and register your vehicle, the following documents are usually required:
- Completed Rhode Island Registration/Title Application Form
- Rhode Island Driver’s License or ID card
- Bill of Sale
- Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin OR Certificate of Title
- Copy of Current Insurance Paper
- Proof of Payment for registration fees and any applicable taxes
- Smog or VIN inspection (if applicable)
- RI Use Tax Form (if applicable)
Rhode Island vehicle registration fees are determined by a few factors such as the weight, year of the model, and the use intended. Additionally, certain services or specialized license plates may have additional fees.
After completing all the required paperwork and payment, you may go to your nearby Rhode Island DMV branch to conclude the registration and/or title and acquire your Rhode Island license plate.
Rhode Island’s law mandates that license plates must be properly fastened and clearly visible on both the front and back of the vehicle, with a visibility range of at least 60 feet in daylight.
If you require additional details on procuring license plates and finalizing vehicle registrations in Rhode Island, please get in touch with:
Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles
600 New London Avenue
Cranston, RI 02920-3024
Phone: (401) 462-4368