Before acquiring an Oregon license plate, vehicle registration with the Oregon DMV must be done first. This requires furnishing the necessary paperwork, presenting evidence of ownership, and paying any associated charges. Following this, you can receive your Oregon license plates and display them in accordance with state regulations. In the event you are purchasing a previously owned vehicle in Oregon, you may have to transfer the license plates from the preceding owner or request new plates from the DMV.
In case of dealer purchase, if the dealer did not collect fees for the title or registration of your vehicle, they must provide the title to you within 25 calendar days as per Oregon law. However, if the dealer collected the fees, they are responsible for submitting them and the application to DMV within 30 days. If your vehicle is bought privately, you have 30 days to register your vehicle in Oregon and must provide two forms of evidence that show your current residence in the state to the DMV.
In order to obtain Oregon license plates and register your vehicle, the following documents are required:
- Oregon Driver’s License or other Legit Proof of Identity
- Proof of ownership (such as the vehicle’s title or registration from the previous state)
- Emissions and/or VIN inspection certificate (if applicable)
- Proof of Qualified Insurance
- Payment for registration fees and any applicable taxes
The registration charges for a vehicle in Oregon are determined by multiple aspects such as the weight, model year, and purpose. Moreover, extra fees could be applicable if you opt for particular number plates or other facilities.
After obtaining all the required documents and fees, visit the Oregon DMV office in your locality to complete registration and receive your Oregon license plates. The DMV might provide you with a temporary registration card and license plate so you can lawfully operate your vehicle in the state until your permanent license plate is ready.
It should be emphasized that in Oregon, it is mandatory to display license plates on both the front and back of the vehicle, and they must be firmly attached and noticeable from a distance of several feet during day and night.
For further information about obtaining license plates and completing vehicle registrations in Oregon, you may relay your queries via mail here:
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314